Day 5

Woke up today feeling incredible. Brody and I had lots of laughs and giggles while we ate our breakfast which was eggs scrambled with mushrooms and orange pepper as well as a sausage patty. I only ate half though. Felt a bit nauseated.

20130805-190548.jpg

By lunch time I was starting to feel pretty crabby and was craving junk food. I wanted a freeking cheeseburger on a bun with battered onion rings and a Pepsi. Argh but I settled for a lunch of ground elk and tomato over spinach, leftover mashed cauliflower and raw peppers and peas. I ended up only eating half. Ate just till satisfied.

20130805-191820.jpg

I decided to plug in Les Mills Combat 45 to punch out the crankies and thankfully it seems to have worked.

20130805-190920.jpg

I was really craving something sweet so I ate a small bowl of mixed berries for a snack.

20130805-191009.jpg

At around 4:00 the headache started to kick in. 😦 I’ve been keeping well hydrated and everything so I assume this is just part of the detox process. I chugged another glass of water for good measure and made the most delicious dinner ever. It’s the chocolate chili from the WellFed cookbook. I served it over zoodles and side fuses were roasted carrots from the garden and salad. Even the kids absolutely loved it!

20130805-191252.jpg

The headache has got progressively worse and my body really keeps craving something sweet and carby so for a snack I made some sweet potato fries and a couple scrambled eggs. The kids, who had just ate popcorn 20 minutes prior, begged for some of my sweet potato so I only ate about 1/3 of the amount there. Little stinkers. Lol

20130805-191444.jpg

I think tonight is going to be another early night. I want junk food. I want a Pepsi. And I am not going to give in. Hopefully this headache is gone in the morning. Have a wonderful night everyone.

2 thoughts on “Day 5

  1. You are doing great Angela! Going cold turkey on the Sugar and processed food is very challenging. I gave up diet Pepsi long ago – but I did it more slowly. In the summer I would drink it like water! I checked out the Whole30 website, and although I try to eat very similar to their plan (except during my move) I can see many areas for improvement. You have inspired me!

Leave a comment